Buying car insurance in Delaware is very important, just as important as homeowners insurance. It’s probably more important, considering that the odds of getting into a car or truck accident are pretty high. After all, there are about 20,000 auto accidents in this state each year, and roughly 8,000 people are injured in auto accidents. In addition, the number of auto accidents in Delaware has been increasing steadily over the last few years. In 2009, there were just under 19,000 auto accidents, and in 2013, that number increased to just under 22,500. Data source: Delaware Department of Transportation, Annual Report & Transportation Facts 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
The problem is that most people aren’t even aware of the type of auto insurance coverage they’ve purchased. Instead, they focus on the amount of the premiums and oftentimes buy a minimum coverage auto insurance policy. Then, when it comes time to make a claim, they find out that their coverage is too low.
Also, life circumstances change pretty often, such as having children, teens driving, living situations, etc. Therefore, it’s important to check your auto insurance policy at least once per year to ensure that you and your family have sufficient coverage.
Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in Delaware
Under the Delaware Motorists Protection Act, an owner of a vehicle registered in this state is required to buy the following minimum coverages.
- Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 each person; $30,000 each accident
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000 each accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 each person; $30,000 each accident
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Bodily injury liability coverage protects you when you’re responsible for causing an auto accident that results in injuries or death of another individual. Your auto insurance company will pay up to the amounts you’ve elected, i.e., $15,000 per person, up to a maximum of $30,000 per accident (minimum limits).
Property Damage Liability Coverage
Property damage liability coverage works much like bodily injury liability coverage, except that it applies when you cause damage to property, including vehicles. If you elected the minimum coverage, your insurance company will pay up to $10,000 per accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP coverage kicks in when you are injured in an auto accident, regardless of who caused the accident. PIP covers medical bills and lost wages, and funeral benefits in the event of death. The minimum PIP limits are $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident.
More: Reserving PIP for Lost Wages
These minimum coverage limits are often inadequate, especially PIP coverage. Medical bills often exceed $15,000 in serious injury cases. Therefore, it’s important to elect higher limits, depending on your financial situation.
Optional Coverage – UIM/UM
One of the most important types of coverage is UIM/UM (underinsured/uninsured) coverage. Unfortunately, this coverage is optional, and many individuals looking for a low premium will opt out of UIM/UM coverage. UIM/UM coverage offers additional coverage when you’re injured in a car accident caused by:
- a driver who has a minimum policy (and your injuries are serious),
- a driver who doesn’t have any insurance, or
- a hit and run driver.
Click here for more info about UIM coverage in Delaware.
Contact our auto accident injury lawyers for a free consultation. Wilmington & Newark (302) 658-1717 | Dover (302) 736-5500
*Disclaimer: This website page does not provide any legal advice or create any attorney-client relationship. Every case is unique and you should not take any action or make decisions in your case without speaking to a qualified car and truck accident lawyer in Delaware. Any discussion of results is no guarantee of the same or similar results in current or future cases.
*Use of the contact form on this website or emailing one of our lawyers does not create any attorney-client relationship. In addition, confidential information should not be sent through the contact form.