Texting and Driving in Delaware – Don’t Risk an Accident
In Delaware, it is illegal to use a cell phone when driving without a hands-free device. Delaware is one of thirty states nationwide to ban cell phone use when driving. Whether it’s texting or dialing a cell phone number, putting a cell phone in your hands when driving is dangerous and causes many car accidents per year.
Delaware’s cell phone while driving ban went into effect on January 2, 2011. The law makes it a primary offense to use a cell phone to talk, text, email, or surf the Internet when driving. This means that using a cell phone can get you pulled over.
In some states, cell phone use when driving is a secondary offense, meaning you can’t get pulled over for simply using your cell phone while driving. Instead, you must initially be pulled over for another traffic violation. Under Delaware’s cell phone ban, first time violators can be fined over $100 and each subsequent offense will result in stiffer fines. No points will be assessed unless you were driving a commercial vehicle like a truck.
Suggested Reading: Texting and Car Accidents in Delaware
Delaware Car Accidents Due to Cell Phone Use
Since the law went into effect, Delaware law enforcement has issued roughly 20,000 cell phone citations state wide. In 2011 alone, Delaware law enforcement officers issued almost 10,000 cell phone citations to drivers using cell phones while driving. This clearly shows that Delaware drivers are still not getting the message. In addition, residents of other states like Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia might not be aware of Delaware’s ban on cell phone use when driving. This may explain the high number of cell phone citations in Delaware over the past two years.
In 2011, there were 138 car accidents caused by cell phone use, the majority of which were caused by persons under the age of 30. In addition, the day of the week with the highest number of cell phone related car accidents is Friday followed by Wednesday and then Thursday. Peak accident times are around lunch time and after bars close, between 1 a.m. and 2 a.m. Read more Delaware cell phone accident statistics here.
Texting when driving causes a driver to take their eyes off the road for an average of 4.6 seconds. When traveling at 55 miles per hour, that’s enough time to travel the entire length of a football field. Any car accident at that speed could be fatal. This is especially true considering that many Delaware roads are highways where speeds may exceed 65 miles per hour.
The simple reality is that using a cell phone when driving is dangerous. You can avoid a serious car accident by putting down the phone. Don’t use your cell phone when you drive. You may just save a life.
- Recovering Medical Bills in a Delaware Car or Truck Accident Case
- Pain and Suffering Damages in a Car/Truck Accident Case in Delaware
Delaware Car & Truck Accident Lawyer with Over 30 Years of Experience
Since 1982, Martin Knepper has served residents of Delaware in all personal injury matters, including car accidents and truck accidents. If you’ve been in a car accident due to cell phone use, contact our accident lawyers and ask for a free consultation. (302) 658.1717
Our lawyers serve residents throughout the Delaware area, including: Wilmington, Newark, Dover, Middletown, and Smyrna. We also represent residents of other states such as Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland and Virginia who are injured in car or truck accidents while in Delaware. For more information, please contact us.
*Disclaimer: Every case is unique and you should not take any action or make decisions in your case without speaking to a qualified car and truck accident lawyer in Delaware. This website page does not provide any legal advice or create any attorney-client relationship. Use of the contact form on this website or emailing one of our lawyers does not create any attorney-client relationship. In addition, confidential information should not be sent through the contact form.