Delaware DUI Defense Attorneys
(302)658-1717 or (302)736-5500
DELAWARE DUI LAWS & PENALTIES – SUMMARY FOR FIRST OFFENSES OCCURRING AFTER JULY 1, 2012*
For offenses occurring after July 1, 2012, a
Delaware First Offense Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction is punishable by:
- A fine ranging from $500.00 to $1,500.00;
- Imprisonment from sixty (60) days up to twelve (12) months;
- Probation and possible payment of a Probation monitoring fee;
- Driver’s License suspension of at least one year and possibly up to 24 months depending upon your blood alcohol concentration;
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) upon your vehicle;
- Completion of a course of alcohol and/or drug rehabilitation and/or instruction in order to reinstate your driver’s license.
In order to begin driving to and from work after a 1st Offense DUI conviction you will have to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle after:
- Forty-five (45) days have elapsed since the date your license is revoked;
- You have surrendered your license and all duplicate licenses to Motor Vehicle; and
- Your enrollment in a course of DUI instruction.
You may apply to reinstate your full license privileges provided:
- Twelve (12) months has elapsed months since your driver’s license revocation date;
- You have successfully completed the DUI rehabilitation course;
- Not abused your IID privileges;
- Paid all applicable fees for the DUI Rehabilitation Course and your IID; and
- Payment to the Department of Motor Vehicles of a license reinstatement fee of at least $143.75.
If you qualify you may be eligible to enter into the First Offenders Diversion Program.